Mixed Cloud Sunset

When I saw these clouds, my feet were glued to the ground as I stood a little stunned at what I saw through the window. Split second paralysis over, I whipped out my camera and snapped a quick shot of the orange altocumulus strands stretched across the Northern edge, alongside pink cirrus and contrails at the wings and to the South.

Although the most eye catching detail was how remarkably vivid the colours were, another detail which stood out was how it seemed like there were two completely different types of clouds neighbouring each other. Scrolling through my photos, I actually had to look at the time stamps to ensure that I hadn’t mixed up two separate photo times!

During the shot, the weather was reasonably chilly with strong NE winds with the cold trend following that night, with an icy start the next day. The warming ‘fire’ look of the sunsets was definitely a deceiving trick of Winter!

I hope you love these photos as much as I do! Take a look at the contrasting South-West and North views below:

Leave a Reply

